Get to know IUCBC

Instituto Universitario de Ciencias Biomédicas de Córdoba (IUCBC) is a university
established in 2010, and dedicated to health sciences through its School of Medicine.

IUCBC was born after an agreement between two institutions: Hospital Privado Universitario de Córdoba and Instituto Mercedes y Martín Ferreyra. Both recognized nationally and internationally, as pioneers’ institutions with decades in patient care and research. 

Hospital Privado Universitario de Córdoba is an institution with more than fifty years
of experience in residency and fellowship training in all areas of medicine. Moreover, the hospital has always encouraged their physicians to continue their training abroad, as a way to pursue the excellence in Health Care. This allowed our hospital to be anked among the top hospitals in Latin America. Instituto Mercedes y Martín Ferreyra is an internationally recognized research institution, founded in 1955 and with long standing history in basic science and neurological research. They have worked under Howard Hughes Medical Institute Grants and received several international and national recognitions. Their research experience has made important advances in understanding the physiopathology of Alzheimer’s disease.

After decades of interaction between both institutions, with great advances in training within postgraduate education and basic research, their physicians and other health care professionals brought up the idea of founding a new School of Medicine with the mission of educating future physicians according to their medical and ethical

Moreover, the university recently founded Translational Medicine Research Center “Severo Amuchástegui” (in Spanish, "Centro de Investigación en Medicina Traslacional Severo Amuchástegui" [CIMETSA]), where prestigious groups of investigators are developing lines of translational research to better understand the pathogenic mechanisms behind diseases that affect our society.

Attached are our websites to find information about our institutions.
1. Instituto Universitario de Ciencias Biomédicas de Córdoba:
2. Hospital Privado Universitario de Córdoba:
3. Instituto de Investigación Médica Mercedes y Martín Ferreyra: